Tags

,

Tartan necklaceTaking a break from recapping our winter trip to talk about life here in Al Ain:

Back on January 25 we were so happy to celebrate Robert Burns day, a Scottish holiday, with Jenna and Dave. You probably remember them from a bunch of other posts but most famously from our trip around Scotland with them over the summer. While camping out in wigwams and storm pods we got into a tradition each night where we made Dave read us some Burns poetry. So you know we had to celebrate Burns Supper with them! We had a great night reminiscing. Jenna and Dave decorated the place and we ate some delicious Scottish food made by Jenna. It was a night full of tradition and great friends 🙂

We all ended up wearing something Scottish – Jenna wore super cute tartan accessories, I my thistle necklace, Dave his Rangers football jersey, and Scott his Belhaven best beer shirt!

all of usFor the menu, Jenna served up an appetizer of zucchini soup followed by the classic haggis (sheep stomach and intestines cooked in a casing), neeps (turnips), and tatties (potatoes). We even got to take home some leftovers and had some the next day – Yum! At one point Jenna called us into the kitchen and we watched her light the whiskey on fire for the gravy – again, Yum!

the burns menuThen it was time for some Burns poetry. We of course made sure Dave read “Address to a Haggis”! Jenna looked super cute with her tartan bow – couldn’t resist taking a picture . . .

Burns ReadingHere’s a little bit of some Burns poetry for you all from “Address to a Haggis”. Both the first and last stanza:

Fair fa’ your honest, sonsie face,
Great chieftain o the puddin’-race!
Aboon them a’ ye tak your place,
Painch, tripe, or thairm:
Weel are ye worthy o’ a grace
As lang’s my arm.

Ye Pow’rs, wha mak mankind your care,
And dish them out their bill o fare,
Auld Scotland wants nae skinking ware
That jaups in luggies:
But, if ye wish her gratefu prayer,
Gie her a Haggis

Anyone wanting a translation? Well don’t worry –  here it is . . .

Fair and full is your honest, jolly face,
Great chieftain of the sausage race!
Above them all you take your place,
Stomach, tripe, or intestines:
Well are you worthy of a grace
As long as my arm

You powers, who make mankind your care,
And dish them out their bill of fare,
Old Scotland wants no watery stuff,
That splashes in small wooden dishes;
But if you wish her grateful prayer,
Give her [Scotland] a Haggis!

Robert Burns – a man who loved his Haggis so much he wrote a poem all about it!

Many of you may know his most famous poem. I really love it so while we’re sharing poetry I’m going to share this one:

My love is like a red, red rose
That’s newly sprung in June:
My love is like the melodytartan heart
That’s sweetly played in tune.

How fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
So deep in love am I;
And I will love thee still, my dear,
Till all the seas gang dry.

Till all the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt with the sun;
I will love thee still, my dear,
While the sands of life shall run.

And fare thee weel, my only love.
And fare thee weel awhile!
And I will come again, my love,
Though it were ten thousand mile.

What a love poem! Hope you all enjoyed my Burns Day recap. More winter vacation stories, golf tournament pics, and life in the UAE coming your way. And Even though it’s late:

Happy Burns Day Everyone!

