Tags

So over the last few weeks we’ve had some incredible time with family and friends here in Buffalo. Each day we were meeting up with someone else and I hope to post more about that later. Right now I want to post about my family. I’ve posted a lot about my family and I’m going to keep posting a lot about my family because they are such a huge influence on my life. While at the Jersey Shore my husband and his family were all sitting around late at night catching up and talking and my brother-in-law Nick said something that has really stuck with me over the past few weeks. Nick looked around at all of us and said (paraphrasing) “All the people in this room, all my family, this is what I care about most. This is all I need.” What Nick said really hit me. I feel like the older you get the more important family becomes. You feel yourself as part of a web, interwoven into a family fabric, and an added color to an inspirational piece of artwork. Being a part of a family makes you at once unique and unified. These thoughts really rang true again as my mom prepared the house for my grandfather’s birthday! We had a huge table running through the backyard, tons of food, and nonstop conversation . . .

grandpa's birthdayDSCN7595Before eating though, we always pray – but if you know anything about my family you know that we don’t just pray – we sing! So after my dad said a prayer my mother brought out a small organ my brother got at a garage sale and we all sang the Johnny Appleseed Song . . .

DSCN7594Then it was time for gifts and celebration . . .

DSCN7606DSCN7599DSCN7601

When the day finished it was quite a teary-eyed goodbye. I can’t wait until next summer and spending more time with my family : )

