So as I mentioned earlier, I was sick for some time with a stomach ache. This means that I was not going to the gym as regularly as I was and my eating habits changed to suit my stomach – Anyone heard of the BRAT diet? Yep I’ve been living on bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast (and chicken soup!) – the blander the better! One thing that I wanted to share with all of you in the second installment of this “trying to be healthy” series was a healthy, delicious concoction I discovered while traveling in Nepal . . .

ginger root 3That’s Scott enjoying a homemade cup of ginger-lemon-honey tea. You can find this tea everywhere in Nepal. And I mean everywhere . . .

ginger root 2Yep – that’s me enjoying some ginger-lemon-honey tea in a small cafe overlooking the inspiring Boudhanath Stupa. Ok, enough reminiscing about Nepal – back to being healthy.

Since I have nothing I learned this past week specific to exercise I thought I’d instead focus on diet. My stomach was said to have been producing too much acid and that’s what was causing these terrible stomach pains. I always knew that ginger was a great way to soothe an upset stomach but what about an acidic one? Yep – it sure does, however the lemon was part of the equation I’d leave out. Lemons are very acidic and so if its an acidic stomach you’re soothing I’d suggest leaving the lemon out and just having ginger-honey tea. The tea is also a great way to relax and unwind after a meal, before bed, or when you just want to calm down. The smell alone is very therapeutic. So, you may be asking how to make this wonderful concoction that is ginger-(lemon optional)-honey tea? You’ll need water, ginger root, honey, and lemon if you so desire. Let me show you . . .

ginger root 1

Step 1: Put some water in the kettle to boil.

Step 2: While waiting for the water to boil, cut a few thick slices of ginger root (I do about 3-4). Cut off the skin from the pieces and then cut the pieces into cubes (I hope that wasn’t too confusing). Then place the cubes into your mug. If you really like ginger add more. If you’re not sure just try a bit – you can always add more. Remember the more times you make it the more you can perfect the proportions.

Step 3: Drizzle honey over top of the ginger – enough to cover the ginger root (see picture above). Again if you really like honey add more!

Step 4: When water is ready, pour into cup. If you want to add lemon, now is the time. Cut a slice (not a wedge) of lemon and place it into your cup. Let everything sit for about a minute or two. After about two minutes remove the lemon (if you keep the lemon in too long it will be overpowering).

Step 5: Stir, take a deep breath, relax, and enjoy!!

Being healthy includes being able to relax – my acidic stomach is proof of that! So if you want one healthy tip from me this week its continue to exercise, continue to eat healthy, and find some ample time to relax, calm down, and remember all the wonderful blessings that surround you : )

Oh – and if you have any suggestions for how to relax and de-stress this week please leave a comment below! I’d love to hear it!!

