To start off 2013 Austin decided that we should go to the Al Ain Zoo near our house. Scott and I had never been and did not know what to expect – let me just say that this zoo was really fantastic! Its was really large (we spent three and a half hours there and still didn’t see every exhibit), beautiful, and relaxing. Here’s some pictures of the day:

The Zoo Entrance

The Zoo Entrance

even the fence couldn't stop these two from showing off!

even the fence couldn’t stop these two from showing off!

There was an amazing bird house where you could walk around the the birds flew all around you – some were on the ground, some on tress, some flying.

DSCN3887DSCN3890DSCN3891DSCN3892

This bird made me laugh

This bird made me laugh

Next was the Penguin exhibit:

DSCN3902And of course there were camels in the zoo:

DSCN3906DSCN3908DSCN3904Other parts of the zoo:

This little monkey was so cute! We were there during feeding time so all the animals were out and about!

This little monkey was so cute! We were there during feeding time so all the animals were out and about!

DSCN3922DSCN3946

Love the natural mountains in the background and how the incorporated that into the background of the zoo exhibits

Love the natural mountains in the background and how the incorporated that into the background of the zoo exhibits

DSCN3950

DSCN3986

Emily Wilde - this one is for you! I thought of you immediately when I saw the flamingos! Miss you!!

Emily Wilde – this one is for you! I thought of you immediately when I saw the flamingos! Miss you!!

My favorite part of the zoo was the African exhibit where all different kinds of animals eat and roam together:

DSCN3964DSCN3968DSCN3974DSCN3981The zoo closed at 8 but we stayed all the way until 7:30! A good day!

DSCN3989DSCN3991After the zoo we drove up to the top of the Jebel Hafeet mountain to see the city lit up at night. The view was great and the buffet was delicious!

DSCN3994DSCN3996DSCN3998We are off to Abu Dhabi tomorrow for three days – I have not clue if we get internet so if I’m gone for a little while you know why! Happy 2013 everyone!

 

