So last Thursday Scott and I finally celebrated thanksgiving – a week late we know but, for being in the UAE, it was truly a thanksgiving that couldn’t be beat! Our Scottish friends, Jenna and Dave across the hall have of course never celebrated thanksgiving and so we decided to have them over and show them what its all about! They made the turkey and we provide all the sides. We were all impressed by the cooking and enjoyed a great evening of food and thanks. We even watched some Charlie Brown!

The table setting

The table setting

Dave's turkey! Delicious!!

Dave’s turkey! Delicious!!

DSCN2670

All the sides – mashed potatoes, homemade from scratch no-box-involved stuffing, heidi’s cashew and carrot recipe, my grandmas famous coleslaw (and it really tasted like hers – I was so proud!), cranberry sauce from a can (just how Scott likes it), applesauce, gravy, and of course rolls!

DSCN2671

My UAE thanksgiving plate! It was not like back at home but it was pretty darn good!

Our wonderful company and our delightful friends!

Our wonderful company and our delightful friends!

Scott and I : )

Scott and I : )

Unfortunately, and to my great shame, Scott had to put on the indian hat he found at the store

Unfortunately, and to my great shame, Scott had to put on the Indian hat he found at the store

It was a great night. While we terribly missed everyone at home during thanksgiving we felt very blessed to be able to sit around a table with our close friends and remind ourselves of all the wonderful things we have to be thankful for. Just a year ago I was unemployed, and now here we are in a new country, with new jobs, on an adventure, meeting amazing people like Jenna and Dave, and adding another chapter to our lives.

I have to add that the next morning we had even more to be thankful for . . . we woke up to a sound that we have not heard for four months since being here – rain! I thought I was crazy but sure enough the next morning when I pulled the curtain back rain was gently patting against the window pain! Mashallah – we have much to be thankful for:

rain

