Sitting here, in my office, writing my novel and I am just captured by the beauty around me. It doesn’t look like much but the blue sky fading into the yellow house outside my window just screams artwork to me. Of course, as you may have guessed, it is my favorite time of day – 5:30 – the time when all of Al Ain glows from the hovering sun. It seems to slow down as it reaches the horizon and with each drop hangs on for just a minute more. There is really nothing terribly spectacular about it but that’s just what makes it so spectacular. When 5:30 rolls around, even if its been a crazy, lazy, or just plain head-ache of a day I know that I can look out my window and see the world reflected in the golden glow of the sun. Today I even have my window open letting in the breezy 87 degree weather. Magic, just plain, pure, and in fact punctual magic. In Arabic I would describe this moment as asel, a word that means honey but is used to describe something beautiful. At 5:30 all the world is asel, beautiful honey.

