First of all I must say that I will have no pictures for this blog post. Just about all of my girls wear the face veil when outside of school and all of them cover their hair which means that posting a picture of them on the internet would be extremely insensitive and offensive – so there will be no pictures today.

To backtrack, on Sunday one of my students said that she was going to bring in a falcon on Tuesday. I said “no really?” and another student said “Wallah (i swear to god) miss, she is rich and her father trains falcons, Tuesday you will see a falcon.” Yesterday I got a message from a student all in Arabic and had another student translate it for me: Tuesday 3rd period there will be a presentation on stage by the 11B girls, please come it will be about Volcanoes. So ok, today comes and I take my girls down for the assembly. When I walk in I am directed to sit in the front row with all of the teachers. I feel like a guest of honor. Then a student comes over and gives me coffee and little donuts with honey to greet me and welcome me to the presentation. I’m tell you my girls treat teachers like celebrities! So I am sitting there, all ready with my coffee and arabian donuts ready to hear a presentation all about volcanoes. One of my students starts speaking (of course the presentation is in Arabic because their science class is in Arabic) and there is a powerpoint behind her. When she is done speaking, the students pull up a movie that shows falcons all around the UAE and mostly in the desert. Then my falcon girl comes on stage with a real live falcon resting on  her arm! As I am staring in awe, a student rushes over to me and offers me more coffee and donuts! The whole presentation continues – nothing is said about volcanoes but much is said about falcons. I assume that the person who translated my paper somehow confused the word falcon with volcano! I was able to pet the falcon and some of the students could hold the falcon. It was an amazing assembly – I was able to see some of my 11th grade girls who struggle with phonics present in Arabic and sound so intelligent and articulate, plus see a falcon, all while eating some donuts! I was so proud of my girls even though I didn’t understand anything they said – some things are not lost in translation, like confidence. Now that’s what I call a good school day!

