So we found out yesterday that we will be leaving for Abu Dhabi on August 8th at 2:00 in the afternoon! We fly from Buffalo to New York City. Then from New York City we have a direct flight to Abu Dhabi that will take 13 hours! Ahhh! I cannot believe that in a week I will be in Abu Dhabi. Scott and I started thinking about this back in November and it has always been something so distant and now it is something that is very real and very close. So, before going let me just talk a bit more about some of the details people have been asking me. When over there both Scott and I will be teaching English to grades 10-12. We do not know if we will be teaching all three grades throughout the day or just one of those grades – but again we will find out shortly! Also, the school system is split between male and female which means that I will be at a school that is entirely female and Scott will be at a school that is entirely male. I am looking forward to this – I have never taught in an all girls school before and I am looking forward to something different, new, and probably challenging in its own way. Another question that I have been getting a lot is: what can you wear? From what I have been told and what I have been researching and talking about with

taken from thenational.ae the English newspaper in Abu Dhabi

women who are currently there is that when out and about it is generally good to cover my elbows and my knees. When teaching however, depending on the principal, I might have to cover to my wrists, ankles, neckline, and wear a scarf around my hair. If that is the case many teachers decide to wear an Abaya (as pictured to the left). The Abaya is only the dress part of the outfit, the head scarf and the face scarf are called different things. The important thing for me to remember is that this country is very modest, and as a woman living there I want to do all I can to respect their culture – after all I will be living in their country! In the English newspaper in Abu Dhabi, entitled The National, there was an article in pictures which explores the topic of women’s clothing. The range in the pictures is great and the opinions are vast. If you have a minute to check it out it’s really interesting. Now all I can do at this point is speculate and read about their culture but I’m sure that I will find that things will be different from what I am expecting. So I will keep you posted! If you have any questions feel free to post a comment! That is all for now – Masalaama!

